Research Guides: Welcome to the MCC Library Website: Home

Search the Library Pages

Just starting your research?

Try these sources.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Find facts, definitions, historical background, biographies, maps and photos.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window A good starting place when researching controversial topics.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Our World in Data This link opens in a new window A free, open access collection of research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems. Our World in Data publishes interactive data visualizations and summaries of the work of a global community of scholars to provide a comprehensive perspective on global living conditions and the earth’s environment.

Getting Started with Research Short videos and tips to help you pick a topic, search online library resources and evaluate the credibility of your results.

Citing & avoiding plagiarism

Citing Sources (APA & MLA)
MCC Library's online guide.

Quick Guide to APA & MLA
Examples of commonly cited resources and a comparison of MLA and APA (6 page pdf).

Using Sources & Avoiding Plagiarism
MCC Library's guide to understanding how to use sources responsibly and avoid plagiarism.

Textbooks and OERs

Students, see which textbooks we have for in-library use, and search our catalog for older editions.

If your course is using open educational resources (OERs), there should be a link or readings in your Canvas course. If you need help, ask us! Want to know more about OERs? Visit the Open Textbook Alliance.

Faculty, consult the MCC OER toolkit or the CCSNH Open Resources Page to learn how to adopt/adapt OERs instead of expensive textbooks.

MCC Library Workshops (Online)

Online library workshops for students to develop vital research skills for college success. Modules include: Using the MCC Library Resources, Evaluating Sources, Citing Sources in MLA, Citing Sources in APA, Primary Sources, and Getting Started with a Research Paper. Click on link to self-enroll in the Canvas course.

Modules are self-paced and each takes about 30 minutes to complete.

MCC Library OneSearch

MCC Librarians created a series of online guides to help you find, evaluate and use library and other resources. Click MCC Library Resources in the left menu in any Canvas course to see a research guide matched to your course (some non-research courses have the library homepage).

See all course and subject research guides, or visit one of our most popular guides:

MCC Library provides eBooks and print books to students, faculty and staff. Ask a librarian for help finding what you need.

With our Interlibrary loan service, we can also get books from other libraries. See the last tab on this box for more information.

MCC Library provides access to dozens of databases that contain journal articles, news articles, reports, research and more. If you need help searching for what you need, ask a librarian or see the Getting Started with Research guide.

To check if the MCC Library has access to a specific publication, type the title into the search box below. You can also, browse publications in a given subject area.

Are you looking for articles? Do your search in the Library databases.

MCC Library can get articles or books from other libraries. It is easy and free!

If you find a book, DVD, or article somewhere else, please complete the MCC Interlibrary Loan request form. Never pay for full text on a website -- your library can request it for free. Watch our how-to video to learn more.

-OR-

If you find an article by searching in MCC Library databases and you see the message below in your search results, click on it to open a form that has the publication information already completed. All we will need is your contact information.

Access now. Request this item through interlibrary loan.

Whichever form you complete, we will request the materials from the other library and contact you when they arrive at MCC. Read more about ILL.

Read the News

Looking for local NH news and the Union Leader? Or international news sources? Visit Newsbank.
Read newspapers including the New York Times, Boston Globe, and Wall Street Journal through our US Newsstream database.
Find more News Databases on our A-Z Databases page.

NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Current (updated daily) and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. Includes the NH Union Leader and multicultural collections. You can limit your search by location or try a topic search.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Part of ProQuest Newsstand. Local, regional, national, and international newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Wall Street Journal. Can also be searched via ProQuest Central.