Research Guides: Biology: BIOL210-Infectious Diseases

Library Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Gather basic facts, terminology and background information from Credo's reference collection which includes specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and atlases.The mind map feature can help you find keywords for your research.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health research. Access to 1,815 active full-text journals, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals, videos, dissertations, e-books, and study paths. Includes more then 1000 video clips from the Medcom Video Training Programs Collection. Can also be searched via ProQuest Central.
MEDLINE (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database, which means it contains citations and abstracts, for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. Because we have other databases with the full text of some of these citations, you will also see full text results if you search through the MCC Library's Medline. If you search it on the web, you may find open access full text articles, too.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. The CDC website has disease overviews and up-to-date data.
Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases
The Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, a.k.a. the “Pink Book,” provides physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals with the most comprehensive information on routinely used vaccines and the diseases they prevent. Published by the CDC.
New Hampshire Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS-NH)
Disease Handbook for Childcare Providers
The New Hampshire Division of Public Health Services, Bureau of Infectious Disease Control, prepared this manual for childcare providers and parents/guardians of children attending childcare. The disease fact sheets, which comprise most of this document, are
intended to familiarize people with specific infectious disease problems commonly encountered in childcare.

Microbiology by Nina Parker; Mark Schneegurt; Anh-Hue Thi Tu; Brian M. Forster; Philip Lister
ISBN: 9781947172234
Publication Date: 2016
OpenStax Microbiology textbook (print copy also available at the Library reserve desk)
Essentials of Clinical Infectious Diseases by William F. Wright
ISBN: 9781936287918
Publication Date: 2013
Includes Disease intro, Epidemiology, Risk Factors, Microbiology/Virology (Classification, Genotype), Clinical Manifestations, Approach to Patient, Diagnosis, and Treament
Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Moselio Schaechter (Editor)
ISBN: 9780126213614
Publication Date: 2003
Mims' Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease by Cedric A. Mims; John Stephen; Anthony A. Nash
ISBN: 9780124982642
Publication Date: 2000
Includes description of the mechanisms of microbial infection and the pathogenesis of infectious disease

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
More than 170,000 full text eBooks including university press publications. There are options for searching within books and downloading them to mobile devices.

Microbiology with Diseases by Taxonomy by Robert W. Bauman
Call Number: QR41.2 .B382 2007
ISBN: 0805376798
Publication Date: 2006
Microbiology by Bauman; Machunis-Masuoka; Montgomery
Call Number: QR41.2 .B383 2012
ISBN: 9780321712714
Publication Date: 2011
Pathophysiology by Diane Klein; Matthew Sorenson; Lauretta Quinn
Call Number: RB 127 .S665 2019
ISBN: 9780133414783
Publication Date: 2018
Davis Advantage for Pathophysiology by Theresa Capriotti
ISBN: 9780803694118
Publication Date: 2020
Book on Reserve Shelf