Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 110/110x - College Composition I - 2020/2021: Library Databases & eBooks

Multidisciplinary Databases

The databases below are multidisciplinary and include scholarly and popular publications that contain articles on many topics. When you search in these, you are searching in a lot of publications and should be able to find relevant articles.

You can refine your results to certain publication formats.

MCC Library eBook Databases

Our eBook collections together number more than 200,000 books.They are scholarly and multidisciplinary, including books on many topics. You can read eBooks online or download them to read offline.

There are also eBooks books in some of our other databases. To search all of MCC Library's eBook collections at the same time, use search MCC eBooks or search using MCC Library OneSearch on our homepage.

Searching MCC Library

Subject-specific Databases

Subject-specific databases are smaller specialized collections of publications--sometimes included in multidisciplinary databases such as ProQuest Central. See examples on the Explore Subject Areas drop-down menu which shows databases organized by subject.

Here are several subject-specific databases. If the subject covered is relevant to your research topic, searching one or more of these may be productive.

Note: The MCC Library may not have immediate full-text access to all of the articles you find by searching these. We can send you full-text articles from other libraries, for free, using Interlibrary Loan

What Is MCC Library OneSearch?

In the center of the MCC Library homepage is a powerful blue search box (see image below.) With it, you can cast "a wide net," searching all of our resources--print and digital, including eBooks--at once.

Library Onesearch graphic

Try a search yourself right here.

 

Limiting a Search to Peer-Reviewed Journals

In MCC Library OneSearch and most multidisciplinary and subject databases, if you only want to see articles from peer-reviewed journals, you can check that limiter in your results. If you need information about current events or controversies, or opinions, you will probably have to broaden your search. Find out more about different kinds of Newspapers, Journals, & Magazines

Peer review limiter in EBSCO or OneSearch

 

Copyright © Manchester Community College | 1066 Front Street, Manchester, NH
Phone: (603) 206-8150