Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCC Library Databases
These databases contain many publications including scientific journals for your ecology research assignments. You can limit the results to articles from peer-reviewed journals. Depending on the database, you do this initially or when you refine your search results.
If you also limit your search to full-text articles, you will only see results for which the full-text is immediately available.
See search tips and techniques from MCC Librarians and contact us if you'd like help.
Academic Search Premier
Search thousands of journals, magazines and newspapers and access full text articles for many results. You can limit results to academic journals.
Our largest resource! Search across more than 30 multidisciplinary databases of journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Each database is also listed separately in the A-Z list and on the main ProQuest Central search page.
Content: Abstract, index, full text, full image, text+graphics. Journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Dates covered: 1992 to present. Can also be searched via ProQuest Central.
Subjects covered: environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects, global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Science Full Text Select
Covers science including acoustics, agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics, earth science, robotics and more. Content: Full text for more than 400 journals. Dates covered: 1994 to present.
Keywords Are Key!
Image by RSvB is licensed under CC PDM 1.0
When you search in academic databases including MCC Library OneSearch, keywords give you the best search results. Next time you search, instead of typing in a long phrase such as "all the research that shows evidence to prove there's no life on the moon," try keywords.
A better search about lunar life would use keywords and look like this:
"life on the moon" and research
MCC Library eBook Databases
Our eBook collections together number more than 200,000 books.They are scholarly and multidisciplinary, including books on many topics. You can read eBooks online or download them to read offline.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
More than 170,000 full text eBooks including university press publications. There are options for searching within books and downloading them to mobile devices.
Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions (VSI) books offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects. Every month the newest introductions are published online. Many common ENGL110 paper topics are covered in VSI.
What Everyone Needs to Know
Written by leading authorities in their given fields, each volume in OUP’s acclaimed What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries.
There are also eBooks books in some of our other databases. To search all of MCC Library's eBook collections at the same time, use search MCC eBooks or search using MCC Library OneSearch on our homepage.
Copyright © Manchester Community College | 1066 Front Street, Manchester, NH
Phone: (603) 206-8150