Persuasive Speech - ENGL 113 - Introduction to Public Speaking - Research Guides at MCC Library - Manchester Community College

Short videos from PBS Digital Studios

Library Resources for Persuasive Speech

Perspectives, News and Current Events

Note: Points of View provides Point and Counterpoint sections, useful when you need multiple perspectives on an issue. You can also try Credo's Pro/Con feature.

"Issues" databases:

Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A good starting place when researching controversial topics or writing an opinion paper. Has hundreds of topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint and critical thinking guide.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Britannica ProCon.org This link opens in a new window
Presents sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled.

News databases:

NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Current (updated daily) and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. Includes the NH Union Leader and multicultural collections. You can limit your search by location or try a topic search.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Part of ProQuest Newsstand. Local, regional, national, and international newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Wall Street Journal. Can also be searched via ProQuest Central.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Includes national, international and regional newspapers, as well as television and radio transcripts including CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

See more MCC Library databases.

MCC Library eBook Databases

Our eBook collections together number more than 200,000 books.They are scholarly and multidisciplinary, including books on many topics. You can read eBooks online or download them to read offline.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
More than 170,000 full text eBooks including university press publications. There are options for searching within books and downloading them to mobile devices.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's databases includes eBooks on humanities and social sciences including economics, history, political science, sociology, and ecology.

There are also eBooks books in some of our other databases. To search all of MCC Library's eBook collections at the same time, use search MCC eBooks or search using MCC Library OneSearch on our homepage.

Academic or Scholary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This database contains research articles from scholarly journals. These articles can provide evidence to back up the points you're making in a persuasive speech. Ask a librarian for help if you need it!
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Our largest database! Search across more than 30 multidisciplinary databases of journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

ENGL 113 - Introduction to Public Speaking: Persuasive Speech

Short videos from PBS Digital Studios

Library Resources for Persuasive Speech

Perspectives, News and Current Events

MCC Library eBook Databases

Academic or Scholary Databases