Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Short videos from PBS Digital Studios
Perspectives, News and Current Events
Note: Points of View provides Point and Counterpoint sections, useful when you need multiple perspectives on an issue. You can also try Credo's Pro/Con feature.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A good starting place when researching controversial topics or writing an opinion paper. Has hundreds of topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint and critical thinking guide.
Britannica ProCon.org This link opens in a new window
Presents sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Includes national, international and regional newspapers, as well as television and radio transcripts including CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Part of ProQuest Newsstand. Local, regional, national, and international newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Wall Street Journal. Can also be searched via ProQuest Central.
MCC Library eBook Databases
Our eBook collections together number more than 200,000 books.They are scholarly and multidisciplinary, including books on many topics. You can read eBooks online or download them to read offline.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
More than 170,000 full text eBooks including university press publications. There are options for searching within books and downloading them to mobile devices.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's databases includes eBooks on humanities and social sciences including economics, history, political science, sociology, and ecology.
There are also eBooks books in some of our other databases. To search all of MCC Library's eBook collections at the same time, use search MCC eBooks or search using MCC Library OneSearch on our homepage.
Academic or Scholary Databases
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of journals, magazines and newspapers and access full text articles for many results. You can limit results to academic journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Our largest resource! Search across more than 30 multidisciplinary databases of journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Each database is also listed separately in the A-Z list and on the main ProQuest Central search page.
Copyright © Manchester Community College | 1066 Front Street, Manchester, NH
Phone: (603) 206-8150