Skip to main content

Faculty Resources & Services: Blackboard Tips

Link Directly to Library Resources in Blackboard

Make it easy for your students to access MCC Library's resources from within Blackboard.


Link to ...

Articles in a Library Database | eBooks | Databases | Online Research Guides | Library Catalog and Items in the Catalog


Articles in a Library Database

In some databases, you can provide a link to a full-text article; the student just clicks the link and reads. Many subscription databases, however, use session-specific IDs, which means the URL that appears in the top bar is not stable and you cannot cut and paste it into Blackboard.

You must use a persistent link (also called a persistent URL or stable URL or Permalink) instead. Some (yet not all) of our databases have persistent links at the article level.

Example from the JSTOR database:

 

Using the proxy prefix:

Please note: For your students to access articles from OFF CAMPUS, or wirelessly ON CAMPUS, the stable URL link must also include a prefix for our proxy server. Our proxy server prefix is:

https://ezproxymcc.ccsnhnh.edu/login?url=       (Note: This is new as of February 2016)

Add the prefix in front of the stable URL. For example, the URL to the JSTOR article above would be:

https://ezproxymcc.ccsnhnh.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/2655536

 

If the database does not offer persistent linking, you can still link to the database main page, provide the citation information & have your students search on their own for the article. See "Databases" Section.

 

eBooks

You can link to one of our 130,000 subscription eBooks in the same way you link to database articles. The eBooks actually "live" in a database.

Search or browse eBooks

Cut and paste the Permalink (persistent link/stable url) of a specific book into Blackboard, remembering to add the proxy server prefix described above.

Link to the entire collection of eBooks the same way you would link to a database (described below).


Databases

To link to a specific database:

1. Go to "A-Z Databases" page at http://library.mccnh.edu/az.php

2. Right-click on the appropriate title

3. Select Copy Link Location in Firefox or Copy Shortcut in Internet Explorer

4. Go to Blackboard and create an External Link in a content area

5. Paste the URL using Ctrl + V


Research Guides

Course & Subject Guides



Library Catalog & Items in the Library Catalog

Library Catalog link

You can link into our online catalog--even to specific books or to subject searches. Contact the Library and we'll be happy to show you how to do this.

 

You may also want to link to MCC Library's "Citing Sources" guide at http://library.mccnh.edu/citing-sources

Call the Library at 603-206-8150 and ask for a librarian or email us at manchesterlibrary@ccsnh.edu for additional assistance.

Copyright © Manchester Community College | 1066 Front Street, Manchester, NH
Phone: (603) 206-8150